CURO in the News

Research Spotlights

For Students


Information Sessions

Getting Started: Step by Step Guide

Research Opportunities

CURO Research Assistantship

Research Courses

Thesis Course

CURO Symposium

Summer Fellowship

Gateway Seminars

Graduation Distinction

For Faculty

Mentoring Resources

Research Mentoring Awards

CURO Symposium

External Opportunities

Research Conferences

Summer Programs

Giving Opportunities

CURO Research Mentoring Awards

The CURO Research Mentoring Award recognizes outstanding faculty who consistently engage undergraduates through CURO Programming (courses, the symposium, summer fellows, JURO, theses, et al.) and enhance the learning experience of undergraduate researchers at the University of Georgia. Award recipients receive $750 to provide further support for mentoring undergraduate research endeavors.

Two awards will be granted each year. Recipients will be recognized during the Keynote Session of the annual CURO Symposium and their names will appear in the annual Symposium Book of Abstracts.


Current or former students, deans, directors, and/or department heads can nominate outstanding faculty from their departments and research units who demonstrate superior research mentorship with their undergraduate students by submitting the faculty member’s full name, home department/college, and contact information to Kerrie Bethel (kabethel@uga.edu) with the subject heading “CURO Faculty Mentoring Award Nomination.” We will contact the faculty members to solicit additional materials.

Faculty members can nominate themselves by submitting the following application materials:


  • A cover letter explaining the faculty member’s interest in collaborating with undergraduate students on research issues – i.e. what are the advantages to mentoring undergraduates?
    • Please include the faculty member’s full name, home department/college, and contact information.


  • A list of the undergraduate students mentored through CURO coursework funded opportunities, the CURO Symposium, conference presentations, and/or publications.
    • Whenever possible, indicate the outcomes/professional impact of this work on the student.

  • 2-3 letters of support from current and/or past students who participated in research with the faculty mentor through CURO coursework or programming

Submit these materials as a PDF via email to Kerrie Bethel (kabethel@uga.edu) or via campus mail to Dr. Martin Rogers, Associate Director of Honors and CURO, 203 Moore College.

Application deadline: February 1


Review and Selection

The Director of Honors and CURO and the Associate Director of Honors and CURO will review the nomination portfolios.

They will look for evidence of achievement and success in outstanding mentoring and teaching; supervision of CURO research courses; direction of CURO Theses; collaboration on publications (especially submission to JURO); and presentations at CURO Symposia and professional conferences.

Award recipients will be notified by the beginning of March, 2016.

Previous CURO Faculty and Department Mentoring Award Winners:

2016 Awards

Dr. Mable Fok, Assistant Professor, Division of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, College Of Engineering

Dr. Richard Lewis, R.D., FACSM, Department of Foods and Nutrition, UGA Foundation Professor in Family and Consumer Sciences


2015 Awards

Dr. Jeb Byers, Professor, Odum School of Ecology

Dr. Erik Hofmeister, DVM, DACVAA, DECVAA, MA (Anesthesia), Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Chief of Small Animal Surgery and Anesthesia, College of Veterinary Medicine


2014 Awards

Dr. Carl Bergmann, Associate Vice President for Research Facilities; Associate Director, Complex Carbohydrate Research Center; Executive Director, Animal Health Research Center; Senior Research Scientist

Dr. Andrew Owsiak, Department of International Affairs, School of Public & International Affairs


2013 Awards

Master Level Faculty Award

Dr. Jennifer McDowell, Department of Psychology, Franklin College of Arts & Sciences

Early Career Faculty Award

Dr. Katalin Medvedev, Department of Textiles, Merchandising & Interiors, College of Family & Consumer Sciences


2012 Awards

Master Level Faculty Award

Dr. Lawrence Shimkets, Department of Microbiology

Early Career Faculty Award

Dr. Michael Yabsley, Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources & the Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study, College of Veterinary Medicine.


2011 Awards

Master Level Faculty Award

Dr. Eric Stabb, Department of Microbiology

Early Career Faculty Award

Dr. John Drake, Odum School of Ecology

Program Award

Savannah River Ecology Laboratory

Dr. Kenneth McLeod, Interim Director


2010 Awards

Early Career Faculty Award

Dr. John C. Maerz, Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources